Who We Are

Mission & History

Established in 1976, the Community Action Partnership of North Dakota is a private, non-profit membership organization representing the seven Community Action Agencies in North Dakota.

Community Action Agencies were originally established under the Economic Opportunity Act of 1964 to fight America's War on Poverty. Today, there are seven Community Action Agencies in North Dakota who provide programs and services in all 53 counties. By combining local, state, private, and federal resources the Community Action Agencies enable low- and moderate-income people of all ages to secure the opportunities they need to obtain and maintain self-sufficiency. 

We serve the collective interests of our members and the low-income population of the state through representation and education.

People Served by Community Action in North Dakota

Each year the seven Community Action Agencies across North Dakota provide services in all 53 counties.  The services provided and number of people served is tracked in a detailed survey that describes sources of funding, services provided, clients and communities assisted, and the results achieved.  Together, the seven agencies serve over 20,000 North Dakotans each year, including weatherizing 600 homes and housing over 300 Veterans experiencing homelessness. Click on the fact sheets below to learn more! 

Who We Are
  • National CAP
  • National Community Action Foundation
  • Community Action Program Legal Services